March 18, 2011

  • Superhuman Strength


    I’m little. I know it, with small bones that can break.

    Tiny in stature and prone to mistake.

    My arms can’t lift cars. I’ve never parted the seas.

    Never spoken life into nature or healed a disease.

    But, I feel powerful. I feel God’s strength on my back.

    Coated in his provision, I’m safeguarded from attack.

    Draped in his robe, muscle runs through my veins.

    Through Him I’m a giant. I’ve destroyed the chains.

    Released from captivity, I soar above the skyline.  

    His fabric is stitched in my fiber. I’m redefined.

    Superhuman strength—I have it in the King.

    Principle and Power are written on my wings.

    Helpless without Him, I can now scale walls.

    Guarded by the angels, Glory is my battle call.

    All praise and honor to my Commander-in-Chief.

    All beauty and blessing attached to this belief.

    In confidence I walk out on the water mimicking St. Peter.

    Waves lapping at my shins, I don’t falter—never teeter.

    For you line my legs with assurance. You’ve shared with me your force.

    When I speak your name, Lord, you illuminate the course.

    A bounce in my step, I’m confident in you.

    You bestow such favor on children dedicated and true.

    I don’t need a costume to display the power you give.

    It’s written on my heart and exposed through the way I live.

    -Kimberly Willingham

     

     Isaiah 40:28-31

    Do you not know? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *