Month: August 2011

  • Strengthen your stakes.

    93704

    Encampment, I wait in a tent of raw leather.

    I cleanse my clothes daily and watch for the weather.

    Pillars of clouds line the vast skyline.

    Sturdy and strong, like a steeple, stands the pine.

    The smell of rain invades my senses so attuned.

    I’m overtaken by the aroma – in the cast of the moon.

    Like a harp from heaven, a thunderous voice resounds.

    My body shivers and my fear is bound.

    Lengthen your cords! Strengthen your stakes!

    I’m the Redeemer. I’ll erase your mistakes.

    O Daughter of Zion – don’t you see – you’re no longer captive.

    I have given you freedom. A new life – adaptive.

    How beautiful when you cry to me for provision.

    I will always come to your rescue. I’ll be decisive in your indecision.

    I’ve set a path before you with trail markers on the way.

    Lovely child, dressed in lace, never stray!

    Focus your gaze on the lighthouse ever glowing.

    Fasten your feet to the wisdom of the All Knowing.

    Shake off that dust that burdens your walk.

    Trim off your hem – kick the road blocks.

    I do not desire despair for my chosen, my cherished.

    I long for the best – riches which will never perish.

    Sing in the darkness. Dance in your fear.

    Stabilize your heartbeat – for I am here.

    I’ll never leave you nor forsake you. This is a promise of old.

    May it line your skirt – and shine like gold.

    In the roar of the waterfalls, I am your guide.

    In the crackles of the fire, I’m by your side.

    Pleased with your life, dear heart, continue to pursue –

    The mercy of the throne room – a promise filled view.

    Kimberly Willingham

     “Enlarge the place of your tent, stretch your tent curtains wide, do not hold back; lengthen your cords, strengthen your stakes. For you will spread out to the right and to the left; your descendants will dispossess nations and settle in their desolate cities.”

    Isaiah 54: 2,3