October 24, 2008

  • Generational Light

    shooting star

    shooting stars…are fleeting, spectacular, and stunning. They capture ones attention for a split second and then leave behind a trail of stardust almost invisible to the naked eye. Yet, however, a stream of haze lingers in the atmosphere long after the star has disappeared.

    I can remember seeing my first shooting star one special summer night in August. It was my 12th birthday. My dad and I were sitting outside shivering by a warm campfire in a Colorado campground. The Rocky Mountains seemed to frame the purple horizon, as my dad, in his usual fashion, poured blessings and affirmations over my life through his beautiful encouraging words. This particular night I was down, discouraged, and felt alone. I wanted to go home—to be in the comfort of my bed, celebrating my birthday in a familiar territory. But, instead, we were stuck in Colorado, having car troubles, and freezing, with only sleeping bags, a make-shift space heater, and a fluffy cocker spaniel to keep us warm. My sister and mom were sound asleep inside the camper. And, I sat outside with my father pouring my heart, complaints, and ambitions out before him. He listened quietly and offered godly wisdom and unwavering support. One thing I know about my father is that he is always there for me with attentive ears, a welcoming heart, and a hand of strong guidance. The fire flickered as it warmed both of our faces. I listened as my father offered guidance. As a slow, salty tear began to slide down my face, I looked up in the sky and a star shot across the lavender horizon. Before mentioning this to my dad, he exclaimed, “Kimberly, did you see that star? It jumped through the sky for your birthday. It’s your present Sweetheart from God That’s how much He loves you.” I have never felt more loved than in that moment. God sent a brilliant star to assure me that He loves me with an everlasting, never-fading, dynamic, supernatural love.

    Like mentioned above, shooting stars are fleeting. They are spectacular and stunning. As onlookers’ eyes follow the sharp movement of this extravagant event, they cannot help but see the line of light left behind.

    We are called to leave a generation of light behind. Our lives are fleeting. They pass quickly. Like a flower, we grow, blossom in the Sun, and then wither back to our foundational source. May we make life matter! I pray the moment we blossom the world will quiver in the radiance of our beauty, grace, and luminescence. May the world smell the sweet aroma of the Savior upon our beings, and may the light of His purpose be left behind like the stardust of a shooting star!

    Amen. May God, who began a good work in you, be faithful to complete his beautiful masterpiece creation—you! Grow in His grace and bloom in his sunlight.

     

     -Kimberly Willingham

     

     

    Psalm 147: 4

    “He determines the number of the stars and calls them each by name.”

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *