Month: January 2012

  • Split the Stars

    My heart races – my life’s stitched together by strings.

    Hanging from a balance beam, winds have bruised my wings.

    Tottering, I’m torn but not destroyed.

    Aching, my heart’s injured but not void.

    This world stings me – it sets me on the chopping board.

    Through trials and tribulations, I call out to my Lord.

    God, my feet are weary, shaking from harsh conditions. 

    Eyelashes coated in frost, I need to see the mission.

    Melt away this ice that coats me from within.

    Feet of boots a featherweight – ignite my dance with harp and violin.

    Will you split the grey skies with your radiant existence?

    God, call forth the stars, hidden in the Milky Way distance!

    Shroud me with the colors of the sunset and bathe me in the rain.

    Place a new song in me. Direct my passion to praise your name.

    I will follow the trail of illuminated dust – written in the sky.

    I will trust the rustic integrity traced out in your eyes.

    Like Columbus set sail on an adventure based on devotion,

    May my life reflect a wheel – by your words I’m set to motion!

    You are the navigator – the Captain of my ship.

    I’ll hold the compass, while you direct the steps of  my trip.

    With eyes like fire, my Commander-in-Chief terrifies my foes.

    When waters slap against me, I’ll stand strong in repose.

    Kimberly Willingham

    Amos 5: 8

    “Seek him that maketh the seven stars and Orion, and turneth the shadow of death into the morning, and maketh the day dark with night: that calleth for the waters of the sea, and poureth them out upon the face of the earth: The LORD is his name…”

  • Illuminated by Truth

    My body is sand. It’s illuminated by truth.

    Shining in the darkness – kindling in my youth.

    Crumbling on the outside, but renewed from within,

    This burning body – is more than just skin.

    A ruddy, fragile pot – placed upon this earth.

    Granted life, by grace, temporal form re-birthed.

    Once a vagabond, stinging with blood stains.

    The Maker of all things has alleviated my pain.

    I no longer walk on the sand banks of my sorrow.

    Clinging to his hope, he brings promise for tomorrow.

    Like a horse galloping through the pasture, my life is refreshed.

    I can dance in blissful moments – truly catch my joyous breath.

    Sights, smells and sounds around me are powerful, they’re pronounced.

    My God has fought the war for me. All iniquity he’s denounced.

    I’m an earthen vessel. I’ll fearlessly shine my light for Him.

    Building a fireplace in every human chamber, my life will not grow dim.

    With his hands he places to my mouth – a piece fiery of coal.

    My Father will forever be – the candle scorching in my soul.

    The God of all the heavens reinforces this vessel – weak.

    He pours blessings on my life and anoints my lips to speak.

    -Kimberly Willingham

    Isaiah 6:6-8

    Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand alive coal which he had taken with the tongs from the altar. And he touched my mouth with it, and said: “Behold, this has touched your lips; Your iniquity is taken away, And your sin purged.” Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying: “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.”